Logbook 2019

Welcome to the Online logbook & blog of S/Y Stella Polaris

We are a Finnish family of 3 sailing a Vancouver 32 sailboat. After sailing from Finland to North Africa and back in 2016-2018, we are now located in Helsinki, Finland.

In the summer of 2019 we are exploring the Finnish archipelago and visiting some lighthouse islands.

Logbook 2019

Sunday 14.7.2019
From: Island of Jurmo, Finland
To:
Island of Utö, Finland
Nm:
10.2 nm

Saturday 13.7.2019
From:
Kejsarhamnen, Högsåra (anchorage)
To:
Island of Jurmo
Nm:
29.7 nm

Friday 12.7.2019 – Sailing 7.1 knots in 25 degree angle
From:
Hanko, Finland
To:
Kejsarhamnen, Högsåra (anchorage)
Nm:
26.1 nm

Wednesday 10.7.2019
From: Byxholm, Tammisaari, Finland
To:
Hanko, Finland
Nm:
14.8 nm

Tuesday 9.7.2019
From: Jussarö, Finland
To:
Byxholm, Finland (ashore moored)
Nm:
8.2

Sunday 7.7.2019
From: Naissaar, Estonia
To:
Jussarö, Finland
Nm:
42.7

6.7.2019
From: Pirita, Tallinn, Estonia
To:
Naissaar, Estonia
Nm:
11.2 nm

29.6.2019– Start of the summer sailing adventure!
From:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Pirita, Tallinn, Estonia
Nm:
46.1 nm
Early morning start to Estonia across the Bay of Finland. Healing 20 degrees.

25.6.2019- Back to Finland
From: Prangli, Estonia
To:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki, Finland
Nm: 33 nm
Crew:
Saku & Aki
In perfect 5-8 m/s winds back to Finland.

24.6.2019 – Exploring Estonia
From:
Pirita, Tallinn, Estonia
To:
Prangli, Estonia
Nm:
19 nm
Crew: Saku & Aki
Easy day sail to the island of Prangli with 8m/s tailwind.

22.6.2019Boys’ trip to Estonia
From: 
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Pirita, Tallinn, Estonia
Nm:
49.6 nm
Crew: Saku & Aki
Night sail across the Bay of Finland in heavy wind and wave conditions.

Thursday 13.6.2019
From: Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
Nm:
TBD

Sunday 9.6.2019
From: Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
Nm:
TBD

Friday 31.5.2019 – Around Suomenlinna
From: 
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
Nm:
TBD
Crew: 
Saku’s workmates

x.5.2019 – Father & son sailing
From:
Hietalahti, Helsinki
To:
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
Nm:
TBD

Sunday 19.5.2019
From: Lauttasaari, Helsinki
To:
Hietalahti, Helsinki
Nm:
TBD

Tuesday 18.5.2019– Test sail
From: 
Suomenlinna, Helsinki
To:
Lauttasaari, Helsinki
Nm: TBD
Crew: 
Arto, Katri & kids
Easy sailing in light evening wind – great start for the sailing season 2019.

Saturday 11.5.2019Mast day

Friday 3.5.2019
– Splash day! Floating again. :)